opt out list

opt out list

Wow! This is a must read. Click the image to view the full story. Big brother, or shall I say Google, is watching your internet browsing and gearing ads on their site and other web properties they own. This isn’t new to me but I was surprised to see that they track your past usage to gear ads. One of these large properties being YouTube. So now if I’m YouTube and I haven’t opted out of Google (which I just did – you actually have to download a special Google opt-out plugin! They don’t want to make this easy for the common Joe Plumber.)This type of marketing is called behavior ad targeting. I just opted out of 18 sites that were tracking my internet behavior. By clicking this link you can run a check to see which sites are already tracking you. I had 18 out of 27 sites tracking my activities to serve me

google opt-out cookie plugin

google opt-out cookie plugin

ads on various sites as I surf the net. Most of these sites I was not familiar with. You’ll need to do this on all computers that you use and even different browsers if you surf the net like I do. The article also provides links to opt-out with Yahoo and MSN Live. Congress is presently talking about limiting these companies to some extent but for now you’ll need to opt-out manually through the link above.

Now I think these companies are going too far and I’m an online marketing consultant. I’d be curious to see the consensus in the search marketing industry. I’m sure some love it but at what point do you draw the line. Soon all our purchases will be tracked and our privacy will continued to be violated. I obviously opted out and feel very strongly that there needs to be a line drawn. Stay tuned for more!

